

PER MICHAEL JOHANSEN

Rector, Professor



DATE OF BIRTH 15 August 1960

TELEPHONE +45 9940 9501

MOBILE +45 2778 7302

EMAIL <u>rektor@aau.dk</u>

EDUCATION

2012	Institute for Educational Management – IEM, Harvard Graduate School of Education
2001	DSc Physics, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
1996	Management in Practice (Danish Management Forum)
1989	PhD in Optics, Risoe Nat. Labs./Aalborg University
1989	Pedagogical course for teaching staff, Technical University of Denmark
1986	MSc in Mechanical Engineering, Aalborg University

EMPLOYMENT

2014-	Rector, Professor, Aalborg University, Denmark
2007-2014	Dean, Professor, Faculty of Engineering, University of Southern Denmark
2005-2006	Managing Director, Svendborg International Maritime Academy (SIMAC), Denmark
2000-2004	Research Professor, Risoe Nat. Labs., Denmark
1996-2000	Head of research programme on Optical Materials, Risoe Nat. Labs., Optics and Fluid
	Dynamics Department, Denmark
1992-1996	Senior Scientist at Risoe Nat. Labs., Optics and Fluid Dynamics Department, Denmark
1991-1992	Assistant Professor in Physics, Aalborg University, Denmark

SCIENTIFIC PUBLICATIONS

Author and co-author of more than 120 scientific publications and reports in nonlinear dynamics in photorefractive materials and active optical polymers.

PROFESSIONAL COMMITMENTS AND BOARD MEMBERSHIPS

2022-	Member of Aalborg Erhvervsråd
2022-	Chairman of the Tall Ship Aalborg Foundation
2021-	Vice chairman of the board of Force Technology
2021-	Board member of the NOVI Ejendomsfond

2019-	Member of the advisory board of the Royal Danish Defence College
2018-	Member of the Danish Executive Board for Business Development and Growth
2016-	Member of Norma and Frode S. Jacobsen Foundation
2016-	Chairman of the Council for Safety for Electrical and Gas Technology
2015-	Board member of Force Technology
2015-	Member of the executive committee, the Denmark-America Foundation
2014-	Board member of the European Consortium of Innovative Universities
2014-	Board member of the Denmark-America Foundation
2014-	Board member of the Utzon Foundation, Denmark
2014-	Chairman of the Northern Jutland University Foundation
2014-	Member of the Danish Rectors' Conference, Universities Denmark
2014-	Member of the Foundation of the Obel College
2015-2022	Vice chairman of the Danish Rectors' Conference, Universities Denmark
2019-2021	Vice chairman of the European Consortium of Innovative Universities
2018-2019	Chairman of the Committee on Better Accreditation in Danish Research
2017-2018	Member of the committee for better university degree programmes in Denmark
2017-2018	Member of the simplification committee for the promotion of trade and industry in Denmark
2015-2017	Chairman of the Board of the Nordic University Association
2014-2018	Member of Growth Forum North Jutland, Denmark
2014-2017	Member of the Aalborg Trade Council, Denmark
2012-2014	Chairman of the board, Southern Denmark Technological Innovation Ltd (SDTI)
2012-2014	Board member of the Lindoe Welding Center Ltd, Denmark
2011-2014	Member of the Financial Council of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences (ATV) for the University of Southern Denmark
2011-2014	Board member of the Innovation Network Lean Energy, Denmark
2010-2014	Danish member of the NORDTEK Board (Nordic network organisation)
2010-2014	Chairman of the board of Svendborg Gymnasium (upper secondary school)
2010-2014	Board member the Danish Council for Strategic Research
2011-2011	Board member of Energy Invest Funen Ltd, Denmark
2011-2012	Board member and member of the chairmanship of Development Funen, Denmark
2010-2010	Board member of Development Forum Odense – Partnership for Growth Funen, Denmark
2008-2012	Board member of Nanofiber Ltd, Denmark
2008-2010	Board member of the Danish Cooling Cluster Alsion (KVCA)
2007-2009	Member of the Proof-of-concept Board in Western Denmark
2007-2016	Board member of Europe's Maritime Development Centre (EMUC)
2007-2011	Board member of the Centre for Integrated Production (CIP), Aalborg University
2007-2010	Board member of the Centre for Embedded Software Systems, Aalborg University
2007-2010	Vice chair of the Board of the Svendborg Research Park, Denmark
2005-2006	Member of the steering group of the project "Denmark as Europe's leading seafaring nation", Danish Maritime Authority
2005-2006	Member of the steering group of the Department of Maritime Research and Innovation, University of Southern Denmark, Esbjerg, Denmark
2001-2004	Member of the management committee of COST Action P8 on Materials and Systems for Optical Data Storage and Processing
1998-2002	Member of the management committee of COST Action P2 on Application of Nonlinear Optical Phenomena

1997-2002	Member of the steering committee of the Danish PhD School in Nonlinear Science
1996-2000	Board member of the European Optical Society (EOS)
1995-1997	Chairman of the Danish Optical Society (DOPS)
1993-1998	Representative of the Danish Optical Society in the European Optical Society Advisory Committee
	In addition, memberships of several steering committees

DISTINCTIONS

2020	Knight 1st Class of the Order of Dannebrog
2011	Knight of Dannebrog
2011	Member of the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences (ATV)
2001	Member of the Danish Academy of Natural Sciences (DNA)
1994	Member of the Optical Society of America